peanut butter cookies with salted chocolate

I don’t know whether or not this is crossing the line we’ve established…but I completely drooled on myself while eating one of these the other day.

IMG_0300

Yes I know. I am gross.

IMG_0316

In my defense, I don’t do this regularly. Does it help at all if I say that? Probably not.

At least, now you know that they’re good. And worthy of salivating all over your arm.

IMG_0289

IMG_0287

Even though drooling on myself is a huge perk, I love making peanut butter cookies simply because they remind me of my grandma. There are many little kitchen memories that my brothers and I remember about her–like the cinnamon candies she would put in our oatmeal, the way she served our grilled cheese with a side of powdered sugar, and how she would convince me to eat my sandwich crusts by telling me it would make my hair curl. She also reinforced (via song) that peas and carrots do make you grow, and taught me how to clean dishes using a preferred wash tub.

A memory I particularly remember, however, is the criss-cross pattern atop the peanut butter cookies we would bake together. She would scoop out the dough, hand me a fork, and allow me to magically create the intricate ‘x’ that peanut butter cookies usually wear.

IMG_0294

After the smell of warm cookies filled each corner of the house, we would dunk our treats into two huge glasses of milk. I usually dunked my tiny hand in there with it. And though I can’t speak for her myself, I think my sweet-toothed Grandma Emma would have definitely given me the go-ahead with this sweet and salty combination I’ve added to her famous recipe.

IMG_0317_2

Peanut Butter Cookies

Yields 3 dozen

1 cup spry (shortening)

1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup creamy peanut butter

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs beaten

1 Tbsp. milk

2 cups flour, sifted

1 tsp. baking soda

10 ounces of bittersweet (dark) chocolate

coarse sea salt

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Combine spry, peanut butter, and salt in the bowl of a stand mixer. Add sugars and cream together. Add eggs and milk until well combined. Gently mix in flour and soda.

Drop by the teaspoon onto a sheet covered in parchment paper (or coated in spry). Press with a fork in an ‘x’ shape. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. Transfer cookies to a cooling rack.

Meanwhile, heat chocolate in a microwave-safe bowl for 30 seconds at a time, stirring in between, until melted. Dip cooled cookies, or spread over cookies using a spoon. Sprinkle immediately with sea salt and let cool on sheets of parchment paper for up to 1 hour (I popped mine in the fridge for a few minutes). Store in an air-tight container for up to one week, or store in freezer for up to one month.

IMG_0306

2 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Desserts

2 responses to “peanut butter cookies with salted chocolate

  1. Chocolate and peanut butter is my absolute favorite flavor combo. I simply must try these cookies! I wouldn’t be surprised if I drool a bit, too! ;-)

  2. rienecket

    Aw, grandma’s smiling down on you from heaven. A very poignant tribute to her and her impact on your life.

Share your thoughts

