5-minute brown-butter ravioli

I love going to work, and work was great today. My kids are hilarious. If I had a dollar for every time they made me laugh, the state wouldn’t even have to pay me. Apparently Cheez-It is a compound word and my watch is made of pure gold.

And now it’s thunder-storming and my 70-pound wimpy dog is hiding in the closet. Life is so good.

IMG_0221

Speaking of good, hello ravioli. Brown butter is the best smell on earth, I tell ya. Forget candles. We should just put butter in a pot with herbs and simmer it, all day long.

IMG_0222

To make this, I used a recipe from Giada De Laurentiis that I found a few months ago. I’m in love with it. It’s completely delicious and (stupidly) easy. And you can’t really go wrong with butter and cheese unless you’re coating your dinner in tar. Which I didn’t. So it was good.

IMG_0177

IMG_0179

The walnuts add a nice crunch and some Omega-3’s–couldn’t stand to have a completely nutritiously-useless dinner. Ya feel me? …And then sprinkled it with  shredded asiago to veer away from being too healthy.

IMG_0212

IMG_0216_2

Ravioli with Balsamic Brown Butter

Yields 4 Servings, Recipe from Giada De Laurentiis 

18 to 20 ounces store-bought ravioli (cheese, mushroom, or squash)
6 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/3 cup toasted, chopped walnuts
1/4 cup grated Parmesan or Asiago

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add the ravioli and cook 4 to 5 minutes, until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally. Drain ravioli onto a serving platter.

Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan cook the butter over medium heat, stirring occasionally. When the foam subsides, and the butter begins to turn a golden brown, about 3 minutes, turn off the heat. Let cool for about 1 minute. Stir in the balsamic vinegar, salt, and pepper.

Transfer the ravioli to the pan saucepan with the balsamic brown butter. Sprinkle walnuts and Parmesan over the top. Serve immediately.

IMG_0218

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinners, Vegetarian

Share your thoughts

