pumpernickel snack sticks

I really love Pepperidge Farm’s pumpernickel snack sticks…yet I can’t even tell you the last time I’ve had them. Do they still sell them? I wouldn’t know. I try my best to steer-clear of the snack aisle every time I travel to the grocery store. Otherwise I end up with 4 boxes of Cheez-Its and a whole lot of buyer’s remorse.

IMG_9254

I decided to make these when I had a serious craving that I couldn’t curb. I sort of just haphazardly pulled a loaf of homemade pumpernickel-rye bread (which we almost always have on-hand), some olive oil, and sea salt from the cupboard, not completely sure what I was going to do with it all.

IMG_9242

IMG_9244

I first sliced the crusts off 6 slices of bread, which then got a pretty generous brushing of  olive oil on both sides. And cut the slices into thin strips (eating the crusts in between, of course). I lined them up on a parchment-covered baking sheet and sprinkled each stick with the coarse sea salt for added flavor (and sodium! mmm). They are more crispy and airy than the dense pretzel-like sticks by Pepperidge Farm, but the texture is just as appealing, and the flavor just as addicting.

IMG_9246

IMG_9251

IMG_9255

Snack Sticks

6 slices pumpernickel, rye, or pumpernickel-rye bread

4 Tbs. olive oil

coarse sea salt, to taste

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Slice crusts off bread and brush both sides with olive oil. Using a bread knife, slice into thin strips. Place on a parchment-lined baking sheet and sprinkle with salt. Bake for 12-15, turning once halfway through, or until crispy and slightly darkened, being careful not to over-bake.

Leave a comment

Filed under Low-Calorie, Snacks

Share your thoughts

