vanillekipferl

IMG_1873

Oh February. How near you are now. Christmas this year seemed to vanish at a faster speed than usual.  I had been anticipating my German boy’s arrival for nearly 12 months, and I couldn’t believe how quickly our two weeks together disappeared. I had every hour of our time together planned out better than a royal wedding–except for the 25 minutes my family spent singing Feliz Navidad at dinner while using the table scape as a drum set. That was strictly improv. (And on the off-chance that our nut-house inspires you [well why wouldn’t it?], a pair of colliding chestnuts makes a pretty efficient metronome.)

IMG_1868

I guess it shouldn’t surprise me how it all flew by, though, considering I had been planning his visit since September. Weeks of anticipation and over just like that. Leaving nothing behind but a tin of homemade cookies and, I’ll admit, a spritz of Joop on Mr. Teddy Bear. sigh. [we’re cheesy I know. it’s a sickness really.]

IMG_1864

IMG_6562

But these cookies. These two-bite, melt-in-your-mouth, just-enough-sugar, perfectly-shaped-for-dunking cookies. If it weren’t for these little pick-me-ups, post-departure life would not have been the same. I wouldn’t have had anything to grief-eat as I cried my way home from the airport. I practically used them as a pacifier. Nor, would I have had anything keeping my rum-spiked hot chocolate company later that evening.

But okay. It sounds a lot worse than it was.

IMG_1873

IMG_6436

Vanillekipferl – (Almond Crescent Cookies)

(Yield: 3 dozen)

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup white sugar

3/4 cup ground almonds or hazelnuts (I prefer almonds)

1 cup unsalted butter

1/2 cup vanilla sugar for rolling – I purchased some at Williams-Sonoma

Mix dry ingredients together. Cut in butter with pastry blender, then knead into a dough.

Shape dough into logs and wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for a half hour.

Preheat often to 325 degrees F. Cut off 1/2 inch pieces  on each log. Shape each piece into a crescent and place on a parchment-lined cookie sheet.

Bake approximately 8-10 minutes. Cool 1 minute and carefully roll, while warm, in vanilla sugar.

These cookies can also be dipped in chocolate and left to cool, or rolled in powdered sugar. Very traditional to Austria and Germany. And delicious!

527415_10151218715327725_138918350_n

You may also like…

cut-outs   cookies   hot chocolate

8 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Cookies, Desserts, Holiday Dishes

8 responses to “vanillekipferl

  1. So glad you shared the “German boy” and the cookies with our family! Both were fabulous and memorable!
    Bis wir uns wieder treffen.

  2. SO grateful you and the “German boy” (Chris, and he’s not a boy) stopped by to spend some time with your ole Aunt Terry and Uncle Bob (honorary, that is). We love you.

  3. Jess

    Fun recipe, can’t wait to try! Thanks D&T!

  4. Patricia Joyner

    We were the fortunate recipients of a tin of these wonderful cookies at Christmas.. Not only were the cookies delicious, the presentation in the silver bucket tin tied with green ribbon was lovely. Given how good they were, the cookies actually lasted quite a while. One morning there were only two cookies left precipitating a moral dilemma. I paused in consideration, then took the high road, eating only one cookie, and thinking (hoping) that Uncle Ron might not eat the other. Alas, later when I peeked in, the tin was empty. Sigh . . . that moment caused me to pause and wonder if taking the high road isn’t sometimes over-rated! While the vanillekipferl are now a fond memory, your thoughtfulness, talent and creativity made our holidays special. Thank you.
    Aunt Pat

Share your thoughts

