thanksgiving table

When it comes to holiday decorating, I have always considered myself an advocate of using inexpensive, natural elements. Thanksgiving this year was no exception. To anchor our table, I purchased a box of faux leaves from Pottery Barn (on sale!) here, and scattered them across a homemade burlap table runner for a colorful, natural look. I love using burlap in my decor throughout the cooler months–it adds a necessary, cozy nostalgia and texture that many other fabrics just don’t offer.

For my larger focal pieces, I took a trip to the craft store and found some fun, ivory faux pumpkins. I feel that they complement most color schemes and offer an elegant look, while still keeping things natural (–you could also use acrylic paint to cover real pumpkins if you wanted). After finding a spot for my larger pieces, I collected some candles from around the house and placed them at varying levels across the center of the table for interest lighting. I then filled in with mixed nuts, pinecones, flint (indian) corn and pomegranates to complete the look.

If you’re looking for an affordable and nearly effortless Thanksgiving table, I definitely recommend sticking to natural elements while incorporating your existing, traditional pieces. Add a big ol’ turkey, some mashed potatoes, and a big bowl of cranberry relish, and you will have yourself the most delicious and beautifully decorated table since Plymouth Rock. Happy Thanksgiving, all.

2 Comments

Filed under Thanksgiving

2 responses to “thanksgiving table

  1. Debbie Moceri

    the family looks so inviting ! Way to go EK!

Share your thoughts

