olive cheese bread

Oh boy. What have I done. This stuff is good. I’m talkin’ (with my mouth full) reaaally, really good. As if French bread wasn’t already awesome enough (I’m found dipping it into seriously large bowls of olive oil at least* once a week), we’re adding salty, cheesy, melted-olivey-goodness on top to transform it into a SUPER snack suitable only for occasions of the highest degree of superbness (i.e., the Super Bowl. All be darned).

It’s a recipe for the health-conscious, really. Meaning…if you’re conscious of the idea that this just might take 2 or 3 days off of your life, you probably won’t eat it. It should come with a warning label: STAY CLEAR IF DIETING OR PREGNANT. However, if you’re looking for a delicious appetizer with more cheese than P. Diddy, well then… you have come to the right place, my friend.

I can’t wait to introduce you to my buttered buddy.

I first made this for my twin brother’s birthday dinner last summer.

What? Do I mean my birthday?? No. I am not even sure what you mean…

Okay fine. You caught me. Gosh you guys are smart. Yes, “twins” typically means that it was my birthday, too–but I like to make it sound like I don’t bake my own 4 layer cakes and cook my own birthday entrees. I’d rather picture my birthday as an affair that includes me sitting in a lawn chair, the sun bleaching my hair and frecklizing my nose, while servers dressed in black and white bring endless platters of blackberry spritzers and miniature crab cakes my way…

Sorry. I think I fell asleep there for a second. Back to the point, I made this for “our” birthday last year and it was seriously delicious–salty, great texture, and packed with flavor. If my family of four can devour a loaf of this madness, I am confident that your Superbowl party will make it disappear just fine. Even the olive haters.

Ok, maybe not the olive haters. But definitely everyone else.

Olive bread…olive you.

Olive Cheese Bread

(Makes one loaf — recipe slightly adapted from The Pioneer Woman)

1 loaf french bread

3 ounces green olives, roughly chopped

3 ounces kalamata olives, chopped

6 ounces black olives, chopped

2 stalks green onions, thinly sliced

1 stick unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup REAL mayonnaise

3/4 pounds grated monterey jack

Combine butter, mayonnaise, cheese, olives and green onions in a mixing bowl. Stir together until thoroughly combined. Spread mixture onto French bread that has been sliced lengthwise. Bake at 325ºF for 25 to 30 minutes or until cheese is melted, lightly browned, and looking divine. Mixture can be refrigerated up to two days. Ree (the Pioneer Woman) also recommends this spread as a cracker dip.

Dig in! And go Pats!

*Probably more like 5.

10 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Breads

10 responses to “olive cheese bread

  1. Tarie

    Looks yummy, sounds yummy and has to taste yummy — it’s the whole package. Good job, Em. Is the party at your place?

  2. I LOVE olives, and these scene just looks so perfect and relaxing.

  3. Debbie Moceri

    Ok– this looks over the top says Mrs.Mo~ Plus Rusty looks amazing in the chair loving the wine and bread~

    Thinking its the appretizer for tomorrow night !

  4. Oh my goodness that looks like a whole lot of cheesey goodness. My weakness is pretty much cheese and carbs–the olives I could do without. Looks so, so good.

  5. MrsPanic

    I just made this and let me say it is so amazing!! My husband loves it too. It reminds me of my Grandma’s onion puffs only better. Thank you for this amazing, easy, and stupid delish dish.

Share your thoughts

