gingerbread pancakes

♪  Gingerbread, gingerbread, ginger all the way… 

This is the best stack of pancakes I have ever inhaled. Ever. That’s right. I inhaled them. And they were the best.

I’ve always thought that blueberry pancakes were nothing less than a buttered-griddle glad slam, which–er, they are. But believe me when I tell you that these spiced up flapjacks play in a whooole different ball park. I’m talking east to west. From Yankee Stadium to Angels of Anaheim, at the very least. Maybe it’s because I’m just a bit biased. Christmas, after all, is my favorite holiday of the year–I used to throw glitter and oats on my parents’ lawn so the reindeers knew where to park (last year?)–but nevertheless, these pancakes kick some major blueberried-buttermilked butt. And they taste like Christmas. Major festive points.

But these pancakes can also be enjoyed year round–and probably will be, if I’m cookin’–but once your calendar rolls over and that countryside-snowscape is perched above the word “December” on your Lang Folk Art calendar, then I’d say it’s definitely, definitely time to pull the molasses from the back of the pantry and kick it up a notch.

Emeril Lagasse, I still love you.

These lovely little hotcakes are also versatile in the sense that they not only feed you, but they operate as an affordable replacement for holiday candles. Don’t believe me? See for yourself. The scent just invades your air ducts, drawing both humans and animals alike to the kitchen.

The proof is in the puppy.

Gingerbread Pancakes
(Makes about 16 pancakes)

2 cups (unbleached) all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons ground ginger
1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1/3 cup unsulphured mild molasses
2 eggs
1 cup sour cream
2/3 cup milk
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled

Heat a non-stick skillet over medium heat. In a bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices.  Set aside. In a medium bowl, whisk molasses, eggs, sour cream, milk and butter.  Add wet mixture to dry ingredients and stir until combined.

Brush griddle melted butter or spray with non-stick spray. Ladle about 1/3 cup of batter onto cooking surface.  Cook until bubbles appear on top and underside is golden brown, about 1-2 minutes.  Flip pancakes and cook until underside is lightly browned (1-2 minutes).  Serve with applesauce, confectioners’ sugar and maple syrup, or whatever else floats your fancy boat! Enjoy. And happy holidays :).

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfasts, Christmas, Holiday Dishes, Winter Dishes

4 responses to “gingerbread pancakes

  1. rienecket

    Yummy –gingerbread is one of my favorite Christmas flavors. Rusty seemed interested, too. Did he get a taste?

  2. You actually make it appear so easy with your presentation but I to find this topic to be actually one thing that I believe I would by no means understand. It sort of feels too complex and extremely large for me. I’m looking forward in your next publish, I will try to get the hold of it!

  3. Fantastic Stuff, do you currently have a myspace account?

Share your thoughts

