quick cure for the common cold: einlaufsuppe

It’s 8:20 in the morning and I have yet to hit the sack. AM I CRAZY??? (rhetorical) No. I love it when I’m awake until the sun rises. It kinda makes me feel dead like a super hero.

You know what also makes me feel like a super hero? When I find out that I can make the most delicious soup by using only three ingredients and 5 minutes of my time. I know Clark Kent could save the world and everything, but seriously–was he ever power-cookin’ at the Daily Planet? Not that I can recall.

It’s finals week here at school (hence my little Sleepless-in-Seattle moment), and though I’m sure that makes all of you college alumni fall on your knees and weep over your long-gone college years, my eyes are burning and my brain is fried, so please…stand up and respectfully oppose Springsteen’s opinion. The glory days are yet to come.

Where was I going with that? Ah, yes. Finals week. Well…last week I was sick. Head ache, coughing, you know–the “works” (or the don’t-works. however you wanna look at it). I developed one of those first-snow-snotty-nose colds the  very minute our Michigan thermometers struck “freezing” and (gladly) slept all weekend in order to recover in time for the brutal week of finals that laid ahead of me. Minimal exam preparations were made, I’ll be honest, but by the sound of my voluntary all-nighter, you can probably deduce that I’m well now.

Anyway, my lovely boyfriend, (who we’ll just call The German), made me this tasty soup that, if I’m not mistaken, Germans have also nicknamed a “Lazy Broad Soup.”

Makes me feel attractive just slurping it.

"Flakes" form within seconds

I would assume that it’s called Lazy Broad Soup because it requires just three ingredients and all the historical German ladies made it when they weren’t up for muscling a spaetzle press; but perhaps it’s lazy because I’m lazy and some impressive historical German ladies could see into the future. You really never know these days.

Alas, it is what it is. And it’s actually not unique to Germany, though I’d love to give The German credit. It’s a classic dish of many nations, and is in fact a lot like Italian egg drop soup (Stracciatella). Since the dish uses only three very universal ingredients, I’m even willing to bet my next bowl that it’s been consumed on every continent at one point or another.

Regardless, it’s delicious, and doubly delicious when considering it’s done quicker than you can say “Campbell’s.”

I don’t think I’ll ever go back to canned soup when I’m sick, again.

Einlaufsuppe

(Yields 2 small bowls)

14 oz. beef or chicken broth

2 eggs

2 tbs. flour

salt and pepper

sage (optional)

In a medium sauce pan, heat broth to a rapid boil. Meanwhile, beat the eggs and flour in a small bowl until the consistency of custard. Season with salt. When broth is boiling, pour egg mixture slowly into the pan. Swirl to stir–noodles should float when they are finished; about 2 minutes. Season with salt, pepper, and sprinkle with sage, if desired. I like to enjoy mine with some good ol’ Saltine crackers.

13 Comments

Filed under Low-Calorie, Soups, Winter Dishes

13 responses to “quick cure for the common cold: einlaufsuppe

  1. rienecket

    Good one, Em, I’m going to give it a try.

  2. You definitely want something easy to make when you’re sick…I know I’m never in the mood to do anything when I’m not feeling well! I’ll have to remember this next time I’m feeling bad.

    Love your blog by the way, the name is awesome and your recipes all look really yummy! I’ll definitely be trying some of them :)

  3. David

    Not that it matters, but “the German” is having you on. In a sports setting, “Einlauf” means “finish” or “place.” But it is commonly understood to mean “enema.” “Jemandem einen Einlauf machen” means to give them an enema. Sorry. This might be too much information. And I’m guessing you won’t be eating enema soup again any time soon.

    • Yes, I do know the meaning of Einlauf but the name of the soup actually refers to Eiereinlaufsuppe, or egg drop soup for those who don’t speak German.

      Assuming you read German, Wikipedia.de has more information on the etymology of the word and history of the soup if you’d like to look at that. Thanks for your comment.

  4. David

    Leider habe ich dieses gefunden on Widipedia.de:

    Der Artikel „Eiereinlaufsuppe“ existiert nicht in diesem Wiki.

    Macht nichts.

  5. Yum! I love an easy soup recipe- looks cozy :)

  6. Twee

    I eat something similar in Chinese Restaurants called EggDrop Soup. There is no sage, just scallion slices sprinkled on it. Great with Hot Sauce when you are feeling stuffy and sniffly!

  7. Needscheapeats

    I have been doing this for a couple years with Ramen noodles, though without the flour. I’ll try it right now! Another way to get me through college :)

  8. Try adding a sprinkle of cinnamon in your bowl. That’s how I’ve eaten it all my life.

  9. Giving this a go tomorrow – can’t wait to try it! Thanks

Share your thoughts

