cucumber limeade

You may have just caught glimpse of this title and asked yourself why you would ever want to drink a cucumber.

Or, you may have just given me the go-ahead cyber-nod because you’ve already heard about the refreshing, cleansing properties of said cucumber.

High five if that was you.

As you know, I–Emily McFoodBloggerson–believe in the power of food. I believe in avocados, ice cream, and chocolate; and I believe in food’s ability to bring friends and family together, help cure stinky ex-boyfriend syndrome, and put a smile on hungry (and occasionally even full) faces. But, with the love of junk food also comes the love of healthy food–or at least, it should, because we are what we eat!

(Another high five if that didn’t prompt you to go eat a skinny person.)

At the top of my list of healthy habits is juicing. Yup. It’s true. It pains me to tell you this, but I like juicing spinach, sprouts, parsley, chard, and carrots.

Ew. Go visit Deb at Smitten Kitchen, quick.

No but really. I do believe that it is beneficial to drink fresh juices each day–fruits in the morning (to cleanse) and vegetables throughout the day (to provide nutrients). Juiced produce is more easily absorbed into the body than whole fruits and vegetables because the fiber is omitted, therefore very little digestion is required. Kinda cool, right? … No?? Okay fair enough, but try to keep reading.

Throughout my juicing journey I’ve found that cucumber (which is actually a fruit, not a vegetable, if you were wondering) is very good for the skin because the pre-pickels are comprised mainly of water; I think this is exactly why you’ll find this drink to be so refreshing. Both cucumber and lime is hydrating for the skin, and because of these green fruits’ high pH levels, they also release minerals into the body that help maintain our body’s alkalinity. Yes–the human body has a sensitive pH level that we should try to maintain, it’s called acid-base homeostasis (say whaaaaaa?). Maybe had I known all of this earlier I would’ve done better in college biology.

Hmmm. You’re probably now asking yourself why you would ever drink a cucumber, let alone visit such a convicting blog written by Ms. Health Nut Nancy. So since when did I start a health blog??? I have no idea. I mean, I didn’t. I’m still on board with chocolate cakes and avocado buttercream, and I definitely don’t know where this jibber jabber is coming from (certainly not from my size 0 pants). I apologize if you had to Wikipedia anything I just said.

Basically, just trust me when I say that this drink will satisfy your mind, body, and thirst on a hot summer day (I won’t say soul, that’s a little over the top). Give it a try. Oh, and I did I mention that it tastes good?? :)

Cucumber Limeaid

(From Martha Stewart – *Note, this is blending, not juicing, but it will have similar benefits)

1 English cucumber, (about 1 pound)

1 1/2 cups water

1/4 cup sugar

Juice of 1 lime

1/4 teaspoon coarse salt

1 cup ice cubes

Peel English cucumber; remove any seeds. Coarsely chop and combine in a blender with water, sugar, lime juice, coarse salt, and ice cubes; blend until smooth. Serve over ice, garnished with cucumber spears, if desired.

4 Comments

Filed under Beverages, Springtime Dishes, Summer Dishes

4 responses to “cucumber limeade

  1. What a refreshing summer drink and I bet it’s great spiked or not spiked.

  2. You have hit on my latest and greatest, refreshing cocktail.
    But you are missing the point…. Add a shot of gin and you’ll find it. ; )

Share your thoughts

