cheese ravioli with toasted walnuts

Chef Boyardee, we love you, but we don’t like you. You’re bad for us and we will no longer be requiring your services.

My apologies.

I feel genuinely sorry to can the chef-from-a-can, I do. But no can do when it comes to canned pastas.

Seriously–can’t do it.

I’ve had this recipe on the back-burner, so to speak, for quite some time now. I guess it’s because I love posting recipes that are out of the ordinary, and this seemed…well, pretty ordinary. However, I couldn’t help but put this up here for you guys because of how easy and delicious it is; it takes only about 20 minutes to make, it’s packed with flavor, and it contains healthy fats that are essential to our daily diet.

Take that, Chef Boiardi!

If you’re in a time crunch but looking for something easy, quick, and nutritionally dynamic, and I recommend this Ravioli recipe from Real Simple magazine (they also have about 20 other Ravioli dishes to try, if you aren’t a fan of lemon).

Ravioli with Toasted Walnuts

(Serves 4 – Recipe from Real Simple 2007)

1 14-16 oz. package cheese ravioli (frozen or fresh)

1/3 cup olive oil

1/4 cup walnuts, roughly chopped

1 clove garlic, sliced

2 tsp. lemon juice

kosher salt and pepper

1/2 cup fresh parsley, chopped

1/4 cup grated Parmesan

Cook the ravioli according to manufacturer’s instructions. Drain, reserving 3 tablespoons of the cooking water.  Heat oil in medium skillet over medium heat. Add walnuts and garlic. Cook, stirring constantly, until nuts are lightly toasted and fragrant (about 5 minutes). Stir in lemon juice, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/4 tsp. pepper, parsley, and reserved cooking water. Add ravioli and toss to coat. Sprinkle with parmesan and drizzle with olive oil.

1 Comment

Filed under Dinners, Vegetarian

One response to “cheese ravioli with toasted walnuts

  1. I used to love Chef Boyardee until I tried real ravioli! After that, I couldn’t go back to the canned stuff because it tasted so mushy and limp. Beautiful pictures (:

    I’ve tagged you in the Seven Links blogger game here: http://www.sixteenbeans.com/2011/08/my-seven-links.html

Share your thoughts

