once-a-month gooey mug cake

What I’m about to reveal is better than anything you ladies could have ever imagined–like an unknown color that your brain cannot possibly try to fathom. As of now, you have no idea. Yet every woman should.

Brace yourself, Susie.

(men, this is your cue to return to espn.com)

I call this “once-a-month cake” simply because “PMS cake” didn’t have the aesthetic appeal I was looking for, but really this cake is PMS relief in it’s truest form (after bubble baths, Midol, and chamomile tea).

Picture this: you’re hormonal…you’re cramping…you’re turning your nose up at broccoli and craving every variety of chocolate in all of their chocolatey-est forms…you consider baking a cake, but know that if you do you’ll be spending the next week devouring your car’s weight in chocolate calories…you decide that instead of getting fat, you’ll turn to a miraculous alternative: an individual mug cake made from three on-hand ingredients.

And the Lord’s people said amen.

Gone in 60 seconds, baked in 50. Its construction is simple, yet its inner workings are genius.

(Basically, it’s rocket science in a cup.)

It’s so thrifty that Bill Nye has allegedly been jailed for claiming the recipe as his own; Alton Brown has locked himself out of his kitchen out of the sheer disappointment that he did not think of the brilliant idea himself; and Ina Garden is supposedly suing the cake’s creator due to infringements on her trade marked slogan, “How easy is that?”

But don’t look at me. I’m honest 100% of the time.

Chocolate Mug Cake

(Yields 1 mug cake — posted by Brooke McClay on Family Kitchen)

1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar

2 tbs. unsweetened cocoa powder

1 egg

Crack egg into mug and add remaining ingredients. Whisk until combined (mixture will be thick). Microwave for 45 seconds (careful that it doesn’t overflow)–do not overcook! Sprinkle immediately with any toppings you desire–sprinkles, chocolate chips, whipped cream, candy pieces, ice cream, or sweetened condensed milk. I wish you luck if yours lasts longer than 1 minute.

7 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Desserts

7 responses to “once-a-month gooey mug cake

  1. Mary Kate

    Its like a big, wet, gooey mud cake.

  2. OH MY GOSH! Can I make this for breakfast!? Sounds amazing, and so easy!

  3. gretchen

    thx for such a great, quick fix! we have made this several times now & we’ve added different toppings each time ;) and i pinned & shared this on facebook too!

  4. Tamsin Harriman

    Oh heavens! I might have to lock myself out of *my* kitchen for not thinking of this myself, too! That is such a perfect idea.It’s a hot day today so I won’t try this right this second, but I know what I’m having for dessert!!

  5. Paige

    My parents hate me right now because this is all I keep making! I even bought cocoa powder just for this purpose! I added walnuts to mine once and the very first time, I added chunks of a Fun-Size Hershey bar. It tastes awesome with whipped cream on top. Thanks for this recipe! It’s a chocolate cake that my brother can actually eat for once (he can’t eat anything with gluten in it.) He loves it; said it tastes just like the brownies that come in TV dinners. Thanks again :D

Share your thoughts

