crock-pot mac and cheese

We can agree to disagree on this, but my personal believe is that macaroni and cheese should not taste anything like the soupy orange mystery mess that, more often than not, tastes just like the cardboard it was poured from.

Yes, I have great memories of spooning large bites of dinosaur shapes and spirals, dipping each spoonful in ketchup and eating it alongside microwaved chicken tenders (these memories were clearly made on nights that mom was working!), but I still believe that macaroni should taste like something that sprang from a southern kitchen. It should be hearty, homemade, and old-fashioned. And to my knowledge, it should also be easy to make (or at least I’ll assume that’s where the concept of “Easy Mac” stemmed from). Luckily for us, this recipe kills each of those birds with one stone–that stone being one magical crock pot.

img_4605

Now, I know you know what a crock pot is because they were invented around the same time that the wheel was made. Crock pots are both ancient, and useful. Much like Bibles. The only problem with such an invention is that, although many crock pot recipes are tried, not all are exactly “true.” This recipe, however, is a keeper. And a verbatim definition of the term tried and true. For instance, I tried asking my family to save leftovers, but it was truly all gone in one night…

Are you pickin’ up what I’m layin’ down?

img_4621

Crock Pot Mac & Cheese

(Adapted from “Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Recipes for Two”)

1 1/2 cups milk

12 oz can evaporated milk (keeps the egg and milk from curdling)

1/2 stick unsalted butter, melted, cooled to room temp

3 large eggs

1/2 tsp salt

3 cups (12 oz) shredded Italian fontina cheese

1/2 pound elbow macaroni (cooked for about 5 minutes until tender; NOT fully cooked)

ground black pepper, to taste

1/2 cup grated Parmesan

1/4–1/2 cup garlic and herb bread crumbs

2 tbs. olive oil
Spray the inside of crock pot with cooking spray. Combine milk, evaporated milk, eggs, butter, and salt in pot and whisk until until smooth. Stir in macaroni and shredded Italian cheese. Top with lots of cracked black pepper, 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, and bread crumbs. Lightly drizzle with olive oil. Cook on high for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, turn heat to low and continue to cook 2-2 1/2 hours or until cheese is completely melted and pasta is tender. Bon appetit!
6 Comments

Filed under Dinners, Winter Dishes

6 responses to “crock-pot mac and cheese

  1. I completely agree with your view of KD mac n’ cheese. Real cheese not out of a packet isn’t that bright, neon orange (I’m talking to you too, cheddar). Your mac n’ cheese looks delish. How can I make this without a crock pot?

    • Kyleen, great question. I would probably add about 3 tablespoons of flour to the sauce and bake the entire dish at 350F for 30ish minutes. Add all but the pasta to a saucepan and combine those ingredients over low head, then pour that over *fully-cooked* noodles in a (2-quart) casserole dish. Also try layering the macaroni and the cheese like a lasagna, it’s wonderful!

      *If you are looking for more of a creamy texture, skip adding egg (and therefore eliminate the evaporated milk, too). However if you like more of a custardy/thicker texture, like I do, use egg, but stick to only 2 for the baked recipe. :) I hope this works for you, let me know!

      And long live the white cheese!

  2. I was wondering how many servings does this recipe make?

    • I would say four servings, but I guess it depends on the serving size you’re looking for. I used a half box of macaroni, if that helps. I can give you a better idea the next time I make it, it has been a while!

  3. okay thanks! I actually was going to make this for the super bowl, and wanted to make a full crock pot of this. My crock pot is the large oval 7 qt one.

Share your thoughts

