cake batter pancakes

I think I’m still in birthday-mode.

I know this because my mom and I are exactly alike. “Birthday week” is a term that we have highlighted, underlined, and even *starred* in our shared, far-from-realistic dictionary. It’s been exactly one week since my birthday and I am still seeing latex balloons and colored sprinkles swirling about in my head. BUTthis means that my brain is happy (though slightly delusional) which is totally okay with me.

I first saw these pancakes when my roommate Laura made them two years ago, and again just recently when my friend Sam asked begged me to feature them on dish&tell. And now, after having made them myself, I’d like to argue that these pancakes would make the most perfect, sugar-high inducing start to an already perfect, birthday-high kind of a day. For any kid.

Don’t believe me? Let’s look at this for a second. For your child’s birthday you could: A) make them their favorite breakfast, whatever that consists of, B) take them out to a nice breakfast restaurant, C) serve them a giant bowl of Cookie Crisp (after all, that’s basically like having cookies for breakfast, right?), or D) do the right thing and serve them a nice healthy hefty portion of cake batter pancakes. It’s just like having birthday cake for breakfast, only they’re pancakes. And they’re different. And they will simply blow a little kid’s mind.

Just trust me on this one.

They’re just. plain. fun. So make them. Enjoy them. And promise me you’ll do me a favor by making 10x the amount of glaze that I did. Your recipient will thank you. :)

Cake Batter Pancakes

(Makes about 12 pancakes – From Jessica at HowSweetEats)

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

2/3 cup yellow cake mix

1 tablespoon sugar

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

pinch of salt

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1-2 cups milk (I use almond milk)

assorted sprinkles

Combine flour, cake mix, baking powder, sugar and salt in a bowl and mix. Add 1 cup of milk, egg and vanilla extract and stir until smooth. You want the batter to look like regular pancake batter; not too thin, not too thick. This will vary greatly on the brand of cake mix you use. Start with 1 cup of milk and add more if needed. I suggest a small taste test as well to see if the pancakes are flavored enough.

Preheat a skillet on medium heat (I use an electric grilled and turn it to 250 degrees). Fold desired amount of sprinkles into batter. Pour batter in 1/4 cup measurements onto skillet and let cook until bubbles form on top, about 2-3 minutes. Flip and cook for 1 minute more. Serve with vanilla glaze made from powdered sugar, a bit of milk, and a drop of vanilla.

7 Comments

Filed under Birthdays, Breakfasts, Desserts

7 responses to “cake batter pancakes

  1. Terry Rienecke

    This one is fun, fun, fun. Can’t wait to try it with Alex and Ashton.

  2. Samantha Simonian

    Yayyyy! You’re the best Emmy!!!

  3. ~L~

    Wow, so glad to see someone else celebrates “birthday week”! The fiance and I have done this ever since we met! :)

  4. Pingback: Other Desserts by dirtypawdesigns - Pearltrees

  5. Pingback: Cake batter pancakes | trustfundblog

  6. Pingback: Cake Batter Pancakes | trustfundboutique

  7. Pingback: Francesca Scaravelli (madame.jpg) | Pearltrees

Share your thoughts

