margarita cookies

Good grief, I think we may need to stage an intervention. Between guacamole, chips, and ice cold margaritas, this summer seems to be one endless trip to Mexico (if we can imagine my Michigan patio to be Mexican). Regardless of how often I delight in this trio of treats, I still come up with excuses for me to eat them daily. For instance, “I’M ON VACATION,” usually works.

But alas, once a week doesn’t seem to sate my desire for Mexican cuisine. I can only hope my waistline doesn’t catch onto my little game. Otherwise, my bikini and I will be succumbing to the powerhouse that is Jillian Michaels, and I think I’d rather live with the notion that tequila is the only necessary kick in my glass.

Now, there are obvious places where margaritas should go unseen. In cars, for starters, followed by first holy communions, the library, Chuck E. Cheese’s, PTO meetings, beside the pencil holder in your cubical, Pastor Greg’s sunday sermon, etc., which is why these cocktail cookies are the epitome of perfection. See, they taste like the alcoholic beverage we know and love, but they’re G-rated, bite size, and suitable for all locations. You may rest easy knowing that these cookies won’t subject you to any odd glances, DUI’s, demotions, or Hail Mary’s, nor will they become watered down if you don’t eat them in a timely fashion.

They may just be the greatest tasting convenience, ever.

You’re very welcome, by the way. But I should warn you–bring these cookies to a PTO meeting and they WILL be gone in the blink of an eye. The entire school board will be having themselves a Mexican fiesta before you know it. My advice? Save a couple of these for yourself, just in case. Stash them by that pencil holder–as many as you want. Better yet, bring some to your boss. These are promotion potential, (or would be if I were in charge).

I also suggest dunking these little sunshines into your next margarita. Like cookies and milk, only way, way better. I’d have been foolish not to try this, really. And if you haven’t experienced this little technique with tortilla chips then, well, you’re not livin’. It’s a delight, to say the least.

Margarita Cookies

Altered from a lemon icebox-cookie recipe. Adding tequila and lime makes them fit for a fiesta!
Yields about 30 cookies

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted

Zest of 2 limes

2 tsp. Tequila

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into pieces

2 large egg yolks

For sweet and salty rim

1/2 cup sanding sugar (I used yellow because my local craft store didn’t have clear in stock)

2 tsp. flakey or coarse sea salt

In a mixing bowl (with the paddle attachment) combine flour, confectioners’ sugar, lime zest, tequila, and butter. At egg yolks one at a time. Combine thoroughly until dough forms a ball. Divide dough in half and place each in the center of a square of plastic wrap. Roll into logs, about 1/2 inch in diameter. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Roll logs in sea salt and sugar mixture, pressing evenly and firmly. Slice log using a sharp knife to create 1/4 inch thick rounds. Place on cookie sheet and bake 15 minutes or until golden brown around edges. Remove from baking rack after about 8 minutes (these cookies tend to be fragile and are best if not removed too soon or too late). Allow to cool on wire racks.

2 Comments

Filed under Cinco de Mayo, Cookies, Desserts, Summer Dishes

2 responses to “margarita cookies

  1. Pingback: Francesca Scaravelli (madame.jpg) | Pearltrees

  2. Pingback: cinco de mayo recipe round-up | dish & tell

Share your thoughts

