baked kale chips

Are we sure this is my blog? I’m probably just as surprised as you are to see a “healthy” post. With actual green food. In fact, I almost forgot what green looked like until I stepped onto the grass this morning.

Don’t worry. I didn’t eat it.

But seriously. By the looks of this blog, it could probably appear that I wake up, kill a brownie for breakfast, and swallow a glass of lemonade before I exercise, er, walk around the mall. Buuut, thankfully, that is so not the case. I am a (fairly) healthy eater, but what I eat throughout the day doesn’t make it on here too often. This is because I don’t think I need to tell any of you how to put together a salad (assuming that my readers are intelligent and common-sensible). I do promise some healthy dinner posts in the near future, though, but there’s no telling how long that will be. In the mean time, crunch on these!

If you make a trip to Whole Foods, Trader Joes, Organic Foods-R-Us, or any other good-health-will-cost-billions-if-you-shop-here store, it is likely that you will find these kale chips in the “chip” aisle–(really just an aisle of baked vegetables, popcorn, and whole wheat pretzels)–and they’ll probably come in a 3 ounce bag that will cost you $6.99. Simple solution: bake them yourself. Why? I’ll tell you why. They’ll melt in your mouth without actually melting and satisfy every inch of your salty-crunchy cravings without getting neon orange Cheetos dust all over your fingers (and keyboard).

Truth is, I’ve never gotten into kale. Half the time it seems like garnish and the other half I’m just fine with eating romaine lettuce. Kale tends to be slightly bitter, thick, and so…green. I just don’t know what to do with it raw. But–ah-ha–this recipe transforms everything I dislike about kale into something I might actually crave. When tossed with olive oil, sprinkled with sea salt, and baked, you’ll have chips—yes chips, with an actual crunch!—to snack on throughout the day.

Cool, right? Not only are these chips good for the taste buds (in my opinion–to each his own), but they are good for the body as well. Kale is full of vitamin C, beta-carotene, and omega-3s. It also contains disease-fighting flavonoids, as well as lucosinolates, which appear to prevent cancer. Betcha your finger-lickin BBQ potato chips can’t do that!

Kale Chips

1 bunch kale
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp. sea salt (or seasoned salt)

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

With a knife, carefully remove leaves from thick stems and tear kale into bite-size pieces. Wash and dry kale (with a salad spinner, preferably). Drizzle with olive oil; sprinkle with salt. Lay in a single layer on a parchment-lined baking sheet.

Bake until edges appear crisp and slightly browned, but not burnt–about 10 minutes.

*Also try tossing with tahini, lemon juice, or garlic for different flavors!

7 Comments

Filed under Snacks

7 responses to “baked kale chips

  1. Sam

    I made kale chips last week. I like kale in general, but I LOVE kale chips. I agree, why pay $6.99 for something you can make very easily for $2.50? Even better than just eating the kale chips–crushing them and tossing them with popcorn (and maybe tossing in a little Parmesan cheese).

  2. I made these before and I loved them! I liked the flavour of kale before, but these chips really sealed the deal for me. I wonder if there are any other vegetables that can be baked and crisp-y-fied.

    • I’ve had beet and carrot chips before and both are delicious. You’ll need a mandolin to get them about 1/8 inch thick, but I cook beets at 325 for 40 min and carrots at 275 for about 30. I’d love to hear how you like them if you decide to try them! Thanks for the comment :)

  3. A little behind, I know, but I noticed these on a menu today, and here they are on your blog. I made them for the first time last fall when our CSA thought it would be fun to give everyone 8 million pounds of kale each week. Great snack for vegetable averse people ;)

  4. Pingback: (not-so) fried zucchini chips | dish & tell

Share your thoughts

