brown sugar banana cupcakes with avocado buttercream

Not that I was ever unsure of this before, but after making these cupcakes, I know there is definitely a God. Don’t get me wrong, I knew 201% that God exists; nature is astounding, grace remains, and I have unexplainable joy. But making these little treats were just the icing on the cake. Or…the buttercream on the Bible. God planned these amazing little kitchen creations before the beginning of time. It was his will for me…to have the best cupcake on earth…in my belly.

Would a “hallelujah” be inappropriate?

I think that if my mom knew what was going on the kitchen right now…she’d be in here licking the beaters. Maybe it’s just because my middle name is avocado, but I knew from the moment I tasted this batter that these cupcakes would be stars. Seriously. I could’ve ate the entire bowl with a spoon. Or, maybe not. That’d probably lead to a self-induced stomach ache and I’d lay curled up in my bed swearing to never take another bite of banana again. But in a world where stomach aches, heart attacks, calories, and gluttony are void, I could eat the entire bowl of batter. Even if fullness still existed. Yes, that feeling of laying on the floor, helpless and near bursting-point, after Thanksgiving. I could eat my way through that brick wall in a heartbeat if these muffin-tin miracles were on my plate.

I thank Jessica at How Sweet for being a kitchen wizard. I only wish I dared to bake up some of the unthinkable combinations that she does. She says that these were baked for all banana and avocado lovers. However, I believe these to be sheer bliss for all who take delight in eating them. Even my dad liked them–the guy skeptical of the “cupcakes with split-pea frosting.” But how could he not? Brown-sugary banana base, which smells and tastes a lot like cookie batter, with a smooth, nutty buttercream laced with the faintest hint of avocado. You can’t go wrong. Especially with the color–a gorgeous shade of avocado green (which happens to be a favorite of mine, by the way). Coincidence? I think not.

Brown Sugar Banana Cupcakes

(Makes 16 cupcakes – recipe by Jessica at How Sweet It Is Blog)

1 1/3 cups flour

1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

pinch of nutmeg

1 egg

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 large ripe bananas, mashed

1/4 cup sour cream

1/2 cup butter, melted

1/4 cup chopped walnuts (optional. I added these to half of mine and loved it.)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners.

Combine dry flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg and set aside. In a bowl, whisk egg and add brown sugar, mixing until smooth. Stir in vanilla extract. Add sour cream and melted butter and mix. Stir in dry ingredients, then add mashed bananas and mix until batter comes together. The batter will be thick. Using an ice cream scoop or 1/4 cup measure, scoop batter in liners. Bake for 15-18 minutes. Let cool completely.

Avocado Buttercream

(Makes about 4 cups of frosting)

2 ripe avocados

2 tablespoons butter, softened

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

4 cups powdered sugar

Pinch of salt

Cream avocado and butter together until smooth. With the mixer on low speed, add powdered sugar one cup at a time. Sprinkle in a pinch of salt and add vanilla. I also used a strainer to get rid of chunks because my avocados weren’t 100% ripe. More sugar can be added to thicken frosting. Jessica says frosting can be store in the fridge for up to 3 days and recommends refrigerating the cupcakes.

4 Comments

Filed under Cupcakes, Desserts

4 responses to “brown sugar banana cupcakes with avocado buttercream

  1. John

    Wish I was there to taste these, they look delicious.

  2. Katie

    Emily, I love Jessica’s blog, I read it everyday and I remember wanting to try these soooo bad, so I am happy you did. Let me tell you though, your blog is a close second to hers. You are a very entertaining blogger and you chose some great recipes. I love it! I am working on starting a food blog of my own, I hope it can be as fun and beautiful as yours!

  3. Thanks Katie you’re so sweet and encouraging. These cupcakes rocked. She’s a genius. Link me up when you get your blog I’d love to follow!

  4. Pingback: cucumber limeaid | dish & tell

Share your thoughts

