aunt barb’s mexican cake

Alright. So I don’t think this cake is actually Mexican. But I think that if any chicos ever caught hold of the recipe, it would spread like Mexican wildfire.

Does that even make sense?

I asked my family to help describe this cake for me. I got: moist. chewy. crunchy. and a couple of other adjectives that were painfully inaccurate. Moist, I’ll take. The pineapple adds something to this cake that nothing else ever could. But chewy??? If any of you wanted something to chew on, you would drop your computer and go find a sturdy rawhide at the pet store. This cake, I assure you, is not chewy. Delicious, yes. Chewy, no.

It is also not necessarily crunchy, either. There aren’t any invisible potato chips hiding in the batter, ready to make their crunchy debut during your mouth’s first bite. Nor are there Vlasic pickle spears, carrots, pretzel rods, radishes, Fritos, chunks of peanut brittle, Nestles crunch bars, rock candy, or cornflakes. There are, however, nuts. How uncommon in a cake right? Wrong.

I think that my taste-testers, although in dyer need of a thesaurus, would agree that the addition of these hard-shelled fruits make the cake. They add texture and flavor while providing nutrition and energy. I don’t think pickles could do that.

Who wants to lick the beaters?

So I guess the question now is, how would I describe this cake? Well… not well. I’d say it’s a pineapple upside-down/carrot cake meets spiced banana-nut bread. Meets excellent. With just the right amount of cream cheese frosting to enhance the fruitiness of the pineapple. But don’t take my word for it. Apparently there are many ways to misinterpret the amazingness of this dessert, so you’ll have to try it out and see for yourself. You will love it, by the way. That was never debatable.

Thanks Aunt Barb!

Mexican Cake

(Makes one 13×9 pan – Recipe from Barb Joyner)

2 cups flour

2 cups sugar

2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. cinnamon — this was my own addition, but I may add more next time!

2 eggs (beaten)

1 20-oz. can crushed pineapple

2 tsp. vanilla 7 oz. chopped nuts — I used walnuts

Mix all ingredients together just until blended. Pour into lightly greased 13×9 pan. Bake at 350 35-40 minutes. (I used a bundt pan and it baked about 40, but I recommend a sheet cake as the recipe says. Frosting a bundt cake is tricky. Or impossible).

Cream Cheese Frosting

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

1 stick butter, softened

2 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Mix cream cheese with butter until fluffy. Add powdered sugar and vanilla. Frost when cool.

2 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Desserts

2 responses to “aunt barb’s mexican cake

  1. She-She

    This is one of our family favorites! I sometimes add carrots and nutmeg. I hope to see her Christmas coffee cake when the season approaches!

Share your thoughts

