panzanella

So this was dinner for me tonight.

I love summer meals that don’t require an oven. grill. stovetop. dutch oven. slow cooker. bunsen burner? or anything else that could potentially make a 95-degree day even more unbearable.

I used some of the leftover Italian loaf from last night’s seafood chili meal, as well as a tomato that I had purchased for a different recipe. I gotta admit, this was good. I mean goood. Light, healthy, and full of flavor. What more can you ask for in a dish? This is the recipe I used, but make your own!–try adding sausage, turkey, pepperoni, or fresh basil and mozzarella.

Panzanella

Serves 1

3/4 cup diced Italian loaf

1 roma tomato, diced

1/4 of a red onion, diced

1 tbs. chicken broth

1/2 tsp. balsamic vinegar

1/4 tsp. Italian seasoning

sprinkle of shredded mozzarella

sea salt, cracked pepper

Put all ingredients into a bowl and mix until well combined. Refrigerate for 20 minutes before serving.

2 Comments

Filed under Dinners, Low-Calorie, My Everyday Favorites, Sides, Summer Dishes, Vegetarian

2 responses to “panzanella

  1. I like salads that can be prepared ahead so the flavours develop.

Share your thoughts