homemade peppermint patties

Ah yes, minty freshness! If there’s one reason I chose to make these peppermint patties, it’s because of my parents and the “new ways” they’ve adopted since I’ve been away at school.

Since coming home for the summer after being away at college for 4 years, I’ve learned that my parents, as of late, treat themselves only with an occasional Fig Newton after dinner. That, or a York peppermint patty. Zzzzzzzzz. How un-fun. I think that, in telling me this, my mom tried to curb my baking appetite, but instead she did just the opposite as I soon thought to myself “Hmm, why not make homemade peppermint patties?” Ha ha ha, and so I did. Expect a Homemade Fig-Newt post in the near future.

I googled, yahooed, and bing’d around, and found this lovely recipe from Alice at Savory Sweet Life. I can’t tell you how happy I am that I came across this post. Sure, these treats take a bit more effort than driving to the store, walking to aisle x, waiting in line, swiping your card, and purchasing a bag of individually wrapped mints…but this recipe produces perfectly sweet patties that taste just like the real deal and, in my opinion, are even tastier. They are a real crowd pleaser and perfect for a light, after-dinner pallet refresher. Store them in the freezer for an even more refreshing, summery treat!

Homemade Peppermint Patties

(Makes about 32 candies)

1 can sweetened condensed milk

5 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted

1 tbs. peppermint extract

3 cups semisweet chocolate chips

3 tbs. shortening, for thinning

Add condensed milk, 2 cups of powdered sugar, and peppermint extract to a large mixing bowl. Mix everything on medium speed using the paddle attachment until all the ingredients are well incorporated. Add more powdered sugar, 1/2 cup at a time, until the dough is stiff but still pliable. Roll 3/4″ balls of dough between the palms of the hands. Press each ball down slowly and set the flattened disk on a flat cutting board or plate. Transfer peppermint disks to the freezer for no longer than 30 minutes. While the dough is chilling, temper the chocolate coating.

Place chocolate chips in a microwavable bowl. Melt the chocolate in 30 second increments, making sure to stir after each time until chocolate is smooth. Stir in shortening to thin the chocolate. Remove patties from the freezer. Place a patty on the tines of the fork and dip in the chocolate until completely covered. Allow excess chocolate to drip off the patty before setting each one on top of wax or parchment paper. Allow the chocolate coated peppermint patties to completely set up. I placed mine in the refrigerator to speed up the process. The patties are ready when they are dry to the touch. Store in a cool, dry place, or, in the freezer! Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Christmas, Desserts

Share your thoughts

