blueberry buttermilk pancakes

I opened the fridge this morning to find plump, happy-looking blueberries sitting on the middle shelf–staring at me. They were sitting in an itty-bitty colander. A colander designed specifically for families of blueberries (but maybe not). They begged me to eat them. “PUT US IN SOMETHING!” they yelled, in their little tiny berry/smurf voices.

Typically, I would throw them in my yogurt or into a warm bowl of oatmeal and call it a morning, but today I woke up with the desire to cook something summery. I’m glad these blueberries stared me down the way they did, because it definitely made my what-to-have-for-breakfast dilemma easier on my naturally indecisive self.

My entire family was home today, something that doesn’t typically happen on a Tuesday morning, so I chose to make buttermilk pancakes to share. Plus, the sun was shining, trees were dancing, birds were singing…it was like GLEE in the backyard; I couldn’t resist eating a pancake or two on the deck while my dog laid on the ground next to me, just waiting for me to trip and fall and drop my plate of food all over the ground…or something. I’m not sure what he waits for, to tell you the truth.

Sorry Mrs. Buttersworth’s, but you just can’t compete with this recipe. I found this at Williams-Sonoma, and like most pancake recipes, it requires typical ingredients that most people have on-hand. The only thing you may not have is the buttermilk–and I understand that most people (if they’re anything like me) don’t have buttermilk just chillin’ in the fridge each week. To substitute, you may use 1 tsp. of vinegar for every cup of homogenized milk used, instead. The recipe makes 16 pancakes, but I halved it to make only 8 and doubled the amount of vanilla. I’ve also made these same pancakes with bananas. Yum! And SO Jack Johnson (new meaning to the “Flap Jack” perhaps?)

Blueberry-Buttermilk Pancakes

(makes about 8 pancakes)

1 egg

1 cup all-purpose flour, sifted

1 1/2 tbs. sugar

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/8 cups buttermilk

2 tbs. unsalted butter, melted

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 cup fresh blueberries

Preheat an oven to 200ºF. In a bowl, using an electric mixer or whisk, beat the egg until frothy. Add the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, buttermilk, melted butter and vanilla. Stir just until the batter is smooth and no lumps of flour remain; do not overmix (*too much stirring will develop the gluten in the flour and result in tough pancakes).

Heat a griddle or skillet to medium heat until a few drops of water flicked onto the surface dance across it. Ladle about 1/3 cup batter onto the griddle for each pancake. Scatter desired amount of blueberries evenly over each pancake. Cook until bubbles form on top and the batter is set, 1 to 2 minutes. Using a spatula, flip the pancakes and cook until golden brown on the other side, about 2 minutes. Transfer to a plate and keep warm in the oven while cooking the remaining pancakes.

Dust the pancakes with confectioners’ sugar and serve warm with butter and maple syrup!

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfasts, Summer Dishes

One response to “blueberry buttermilk pancakes

  1. Pingback: gingerbread pancakes | dish & tell

Share your thoughts

