ohio state cake

I was born and raised in Metro Detroit. 80% of my high school friends graduated from either the University of Michigan or Michigan State University. My dad has posted a maize and blue sign by our garage warning non-U of M fans that their cars will be towed, if not crushed. So if dedicating an entire post to this Ohio State cake is not my ticket to death, then I will at least lose two or three friends between today and tomorrow.

I’m just joking. My friends would never do that. But maybe? The rivalry is insane. If I’m lucky, they’ll settle on the silent treatment for a couple of days. But I don’t feel safe either way. In my defense, this cake was an honest effort. It’s not like I delivered it wearing a red wig and silver necklaces, chanting “O-H–” and waiting for the ‘hollaback.’ I simply (innocently) made this cake for a friend of mine that just recently got accepted to her program at OSU (congrats Kenz!). I figured crazy sports fans need sugar. And therefore Buckeyes need cake.

I used a Duncan Hines chocolate cake mix for this cake, adding milk instead of water. I always add milk because I feel it enhances the flavor and moistens the cake a bit. Sour cream is also great in cakes. I used two 8″ rounds and filled the middle layer with homemade buttercream. This is the BEST buttercream recipe I’ve ever used. Light and fluffy, and not too buttery; I won’t use anything else. I froze the cakes after cooling and stacking so that I could carve it into the shape of the block “O” without getting crumbs in my lap, on the floor, in my dog’s hair, etc. (And FYI, the carving was painful; I really am a U of M fan at heart, despite my treason-filled efforts.)

I set some buttercream aside in 2 bowls, which I later tinted red and green. I also put about 2 tablespoons in a baggie to outline the “O” in white. I then added unsweetened cocoa powder to the remaining frosting (I estimated about a 2/5 of a cup) to make a chocolate buttercream. I added just 1 or 2 more tablespoons of milk to this, too.

Because I didn’t need any fancy piping tips for this cake, I decided to use plastic ziplock baggies to pipe the detailing. Most people have them on-hand and you don’t need to wash them after, which I love. I piped the red on pretty thick and smoothed over with a frosting knife before retracing with white icing. Lasty, I made Buckeyes candies the night before which I added to the top of the cake and rim of the plate. Any OSU cake would be incomplete without them!

This cake can be done with any college logo. Although I definitely think I got lucky with the easiest letter:).

Buckeyes

2-3 dozen, depending on size

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 cup peanut butter

2 3/4 cups confectioner sugar

1/8 block paraffin

1 6-oz. package of chocolate chips (chocolate candy melts work well too in lieu of paraffin and chips)

Cream peanut butter, sugar, and butter. Roll into 1-inch balls and stick with toothpicks. Refrigerate for 2 hours. Melt paraffin and chocolate chips in a double broiler and dip peanut butter balls about 3/4 of the way. Set on wax-papered plate until hardened and store in refrigerator.

Buttercream

From Wilton, makes about 3 cups

1/2 cup solid vegetable shortening

1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened

1 tsp. vanilla extract

4 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar

2 tbs. milk

In large bowl, cream shortening and butter with electric mixer. Add vanilla. Gradually add sugar, one cup at a time, beating well on medium speed. Scrape sides and bottom of bowl often. When all sugar has been mixed in, icing will appear dry. Add milk and beat at medium speed until light and fluffy. Keep bowl covered with a damp cloth until ready to use.

For best results, keep icing bowl in refrigerator when not in use. Refrigerated in an airtight container, this icing can be stored 2 weeks. Rewhip before using.

2 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Desserts

2 responses to “ohio state cake

  1. Emily Mock

    GO BLUE. :]

Share your thoughts

