guacamole muy bien

Today you will learn that my family believes in the 3 following staples: tortilla chips, margaritas, and guacamole. And if you already know this, well, I’m not too surprised. I tend to flaunt my good taste. Sometimes I wonder if I was born on the border, or perhaps made in Mexico, buuut I wasn’t. I am very much American, and our American-flag-bandana wearing dog that prefers his kibble à la Yoplait will vouch for me.

Where my family developed our great taste in food, I’m unsure. We’re “German,” but it seems we eat just about everything but German food (excluding brats. Brats are the best). My brother and I have made many variations of this guacamole; we’ve added anaheim peppers, jalapeños, garlic, tomatillos, mango, radish, cumin, chili powder, cayenne pepper…just about everything but ketchup (John wouldn’t let me), but this is the recipe we stand by when friends come over. I warn you: there won’t be any leftovers.

Bowls upon bowls will be consumed this summer, I assure you, along with many ultimate margaritas (not to be confused with unlimited). We’re 4-4 already.

Kummer’s Guacamole

Makes about 4 cups

4 tender avocados

1/2 red onion, chopped

1 ripe tomato, seeded and finely chopped

1 tbs. fresh cilantro, minced (plus more for garnish)

The juice of 1 lime

1 tsp. sea salt (plus more to taste)

Slice avocados in half and remove pits by firmly tapping the pit with a sharp knife and twisting loose. Make vertical slices through the inside of the avocado and, using a spoon, scoop the flesh into a molcajete or mixing bowl. Add lime juice and sea salt and mash with a pestle or fork slightly (I like to leave some lumps). Add remaining ingredients, leaving aside a bit of tomato and cilantro for garnish. Mix thoroughly. Do a taste test and adjust flavor with salt. Place plastic wrap directly against the surface of the guacamole and refrigerate for 30 minutes prior to serving–this is important. Garnish with remaining cilantro and serve chilled with tortilla chips (lime-flavored pair excellently) or vegetables. Oh, and margaritas (of course)!

*For a spicier guacamole, add 2-3 finely chopped serrano chiles.

2 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Cinco de Mayo, My Everyday Favorites, Sides, Snacks, Summer Dishes

2 responses to “guacamole muy bien

  1. Pingback: BLT Burger with Avocado and Caramelized Onions | DISH&TELL

  2. Pingback: cinco de mayo recipe round-up | dish & tell

Share your thoughts

