strawberry-rhubard pie

If you’re going to read my blog, we’re going to have to establish a relationship of trust. With that said, I have a confession to make. I’ve never actually made strawberry rhubarb pie before. But that’s not the whole truth. I’ve never actually had it, either.

I know what you’re thinking. How can you trust me? But don’t be worried, because although I am a strawberry-rhubarb rookie, I have had many veterans taste and approve of my amateur outcome. I myself am pleased to say that this pie came out just as I had hoped: sweet and warm, tart and juicy. And perfect with alternating bites of vanilla ice cream.

I’d say I don’t know what inspired me to make this, except…I know exactly what inspired me. Strawberries were on sale at the grocery store and rhubarb was lookin’ fine as can be. And, with this gloom-doom weather we’ve been having, I thought a brightly-colored, zesty pie may be just what I needed to liven up the kitch. So, I googled, and found what I consider to be a fairly simple recipe (especially when you cheat, I mean borrow, my best friend Jiffy). All you need are a few ingredients and about an hour of your time to let all of the yumminess bake down (I personally spent my hour watching reruns of Cake Boss OnDemand).


Grandma’s Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie

Crust

1 box of Jiffy pie crust mix

Filling

2 1/2 cups chopped red rhubarb, fresh

2 1/2 cups de-stemmed, washed, and cut strawberries (in larger pieces)

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 tbs. Minute Tapioca

1 tbs. all-purpose flour to thicken

1/2 tsp. lemon zest

1/2 tsp. lemon juice

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. vanilla extract

3 tbs. butter, cubed small

1 egg white, beaten, with 1 tsp. water

large granula sugar (optional)

Crust Preparation

In a small bowl, combine dry pie crust mix with 4-5 tbs. of water. Mix with a fork until combined enough to form two balls. On floured surface, roll out first ball big enough to place in the bottom of the pie dish. Refrigerate bottom crust until filling is prepared.

Filling Preparation

Preheat oven to 425°F. Mix the rhubarb, strawberries, sugar, tapioca, flour, zest and juice of lemon, dash of cinnamon, and vanilla. Mix well in a large bowl and pour out into chilled crust. Dot the top of the filling with the cubed butter. Brush edges of pie crust with egg-white wash. Roll out the other piece of dough and place over filling. I made a small lattice on the top of my pie and used a star-shaped cookie cutter to add little adornments. I guess I’m practicing for the Fourth of July. Crimp to seal edges. Brush with egg white wash and garnish with large granule sugar (optional). Collar with foil and bake at 425°F for 15 minutes. Decrease temperature to 375°F and bake for an additional 45 to 50 minutes, or until the filling starts to bubble. Let cool before serving. Enjoy with vanilla ice cream and good company (Cake Boss and other quality programming qualifies).

3 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Fourth of July, Memorial Day, Pies, Summer Dishes

3 responses to “strawberry-rhubard pie

  1. Your pictures are so beautiful, as is your blog. Fabulous!

  2. Thank you Mrs. Z! I just checked out your website as well, how awesome! You make some of the coolest things!

  3. She-She

    YOU ARE AWESOME! I wish I could share this pie with you!

Share your thoughts

